Literature Program

Thursday, November 8, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.


Tom McCarthy

Exhibit X Fiction

Tom McCarthy. (Photo credit: Eugene Dolberg.)
Tom McCarthy. (Photo credit: Eugene Dolberg.)
Tom McCarthy is a writer and artist whose work has been translated into more than twenty languages. His first novel, Remainder, which deals with questions of trauma and repetition, won the 2008 Believer Book Award and is currently being adapted for cinema by FilmFour Films. His second novel, Men in Space, set in a Central Europe rapidly disintegrating after the collapse of communism, was published in 2007. His third, C, which explores the relationship between melancholia, violence, and emergent technological media, is published by Knopf in the US and Cape in the UK, and was shortlisted for the 2010 Booker Prize. McCarthy is also author of the 2006 non-fiction book Tintin and the Secret of Literature, an exploration of the themes and patterns of Hergé's comic books, and of numerous essays that have appeared in publications such as The New York Times, The London Review of Books, Harper's and Artforum. In addition, he is founder and General Secretary of the International Necronautical Society(INS), a semi-fictitious avant-garde network of writers, philosophers, and artists whose work has been exhibited internationally at venues including the Palais de Tokyo Paris, Tate Britain and Moderna Museet Stockholm.
[Post-event note: 

"Yale University announced on Monday [March 4, 2013] the inaugural winners of the Windham Campbell Prizes, which are given to writers for outstanding achievement in fiction, nonfiction, and drama.

"Nine prizes of $150,000 each are to be awarded to James Salter, Zoë Wicomb, and Tom McCarthy in fiction; Jonny Steinberg, Adina Hoffman, and Jeremy Scahill in nonfiction; and Naomi Wallace, Stephen Adly Guirgis, and Tarell Alvin McCraney in drama.

"The awards are among the largest literary prizes in the world and are meant to recognize writers at all stages of their careers. The winners are to be honored at a ceremony in New Haven on Sept. 10.

"The endowment for the prizes comes from the estate of the writer Donald Windham, who died in May 2010, and his partner, Sandy M. Campbell. Mr. Campbell was the publisher of the first editions of many of Mr. Windham’s books before his death in 1988."]